top of page
Search

Riverside

Gazing down the river valley,

My steps falter before I even try to move,

I stand still and let the moments pass,

As they tear me further away from you.


The shifting waters call my name,

Want me to dip my feet and dance with you,

"Still can't let go?", the whispering wind taunts,

And I don't even deny as I know it's true.

You were the lantern to my darkest alleys,

Now I'm blinded even in a beaming light,

Memories yet again pool my bleary eyes,

And engulf me into the dwindling sight.


Don't need to find the brightest star,

The whole sky is your silhouette,

Moonlight shines the rocky bedside,

Marking the place where we first met.


Smiling dryly with that heavy thought,

I turn back to solemnly retreat,

Haven't moved even one foot forward,

In the sixteen years that it has been.


"Maybe I'll make progress tomorrow", I console,

Though I know it's a white lie,

I put your photo back into my pocket,

And return to where the busy streets cry.

70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"They"

bottom of page