top of page
Search

"They"

Chained by the beliefs of society,

I struggle to escape,

The cuffs start getting tighter,

As I try to pave my way.


The mirror that once fogged my reflection,

Now stands clearer and I stand dazed,

I see a human, not a man or a woman,

Always having been stripped of the rights of being a “they”.


Open doors but the invisible lock doesn’t let me escape,

Rustling through dens and caves,

Scared of being their prey.

Hid even from shadows as they peered stray,

Why am I never seen MY way?



Overcoming obstacles, I sit in a room of illusions,

Searching for the vial of solutions.

Chuckling with a heavy heart, as they misidentify me,

Refusing to see past the gender barriers.


They despise me for who I am,

Not realizing the one that created them, created me as well this way.

Why does it always take a slitted wrist to even raise a case?

Which is sadly forgotten the very next day.


Never given equal rights, never given equal shares,

The one who frowned upon me the day before,

hides in the shadows today as if he cares.


I am lying on the ground for the final time, this is how I ended up trying to be mine,

Darkness today seems like an iridescent light,

And I close my eyes with a tranquil smile…for the last time

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page